Abrahamic Scriptures

By the Editors of the Madain Project

The term "Abrahamic Scriptures" refers to the sacred texts associated with the three major monotheistic religions that trace their spiritual heritage to the prophet Abraham: Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. These religions, known as the Abrahamic faiths, consider Abraham a central figure in their narratives and revere him as a patriarch or forefather.

See Subject Home > Abrahamic Scriptures


The Abrahamic Scriptures encompass the Hebrew Bible in Judaism, the Old and New Testaments in Christianity, and the Qur'an in Islam. These texts share common themes and stories, including the creation of the world, the covenant with Abraham, and moral and ethical teachings. However, they also contain significant differences in interpretation and emphasis that reflect the unique beliefs and practices of each faith tradition.

While the Abrahamic Scriptures share some common narratives and moral principles, each faith tradition interprets and applies these teachings in its own unique way. This has led to both similarities and differences in the religious practices, beliefs, and cultural expressions of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.

List of the Scriptures

circa 1300 BCE

In Judaism, the Abrahamic Scriptures include the Hebrew Bible, also known as the Tanakh, which consists of the Torah (the first five books of Moses), the Prophets (Nevi'im), and the Writings (Ketuvim). These texts are central to Jewish religious law, history, and tradition, detailing the relationship between God and the Israelites, as well as providing guidance for ethical living and worship.

circa 50 CE

Christianity's Abrahamic Scriptures comprise of the Bible (the Old and New Testaments). The Old Testament shares many texts with the Hebrew Bible, including the Torah and Prophets, and is foundational to Christian theology and history. The New Testament includes the Gospels, which recount the life and teachings of Jesus Christ, as well as the letters of the apostles and other writings. The New Testament builds on the Old Testament, emphasizing the new covenant established through Jesus' life, death, and resurrection.

circa 610 CE

Islam's sacred text, the Qur'an, is considered the final revelation from God, delivered to the prophet Muhammad through the angel Gabriel. The Qur'an acknowledges Abraham as an important figure in the faith and emphasizes his role as a prophet who established monotheism. Additionally, the Qur'an contains teachings on worship, morality, and social justice, guiding the lives of Muslims around the world.


See Also


Let's bring some history to your inbox

Signup for our monthly newsletter / online magazine.
No spam, we promise.

Privacy Policy