Via Dolorosa

The current traditional route is based on a circular devotional walk, organized by Franciscans in the 14th century.

Date Landscape Notes Reference
c. Via Dolorosa inscription under the Arch of Ecce Homo
Stations along the Via Dolorosa
c. Circular disk marking the First Station on Via Dolorosa is today where the al-Omariya School is located. The First Station is where the Fort Antonia, the seat of Pontius Pilate, once stood and where according to Christian tradition Jesus was condemned to death by Pilate.
c. Second Station marker at Franciscan Monastery and the Church of the Condemnation and Imposition of the Cross. According to tradition it where the Cross was imposed on Jesus, and he was condemned by the crowd.
c. The central opening of the arch of Ecce Homo (Latin for "behold the man"), seen here, is part of an Early Roman arch which had triple openings. According to tradition, this is the site Pilate presented Jesus to the enraged jewish crowds.
c. Third Station marker where Jesus falls for the first time under the weight of the cross that he is carrying. It is located around the Polish Catholic Church on the corner of via Dolorosa and El Wad (Hagai) street.
c. Fourth Station is located on el-Wad street where Jesus met his mother Mary according to the tradition. An Armenian church ("Armenian Church of Our Lady of the Spasm") is now located at this site.
c. The Fifth Station is located at the corner of Via Dolorosa road and El-Wad, a small Franciscan church is located at this station, dedicated to Simon the Cyrenian, who assisted Jesus with the cross.
c. A small Greek Catholic chapel Church of the Holy Face is located at the Sixth Station, where according to tradition Veronica wiped the face of Jesus. Greek Roman Catholics, who built the chapel here claim that Veronica had encountered Jesus outside her own house, and that the house had formerly been positioned at this spot.
c. Seventh Station, where Jesus fell for the second time, today a small Franciscan Chapel is located here.
c. Chapel of St. Charalampos is located at the spot where according to the tradition Jesus fell for the second time and marks the Eighth Station on Via Dolorosa. The circular disk marking the station can be seen above the white board on the left wall. It is located closest to the Holy Sepulchre.
c. Ninth Station (column with painted cross) marks the spot where Jesus fell for the third time. Today a small Coptic Church of St. Helen is situated at the location, close to the Golgotha and adjacent to the Holy Sepulchre, the door on the left leads to the courtyard of Holy Sepulchre.
c. Chapel of the Franks is believed to be the Tenth Station along the Via Dolorosa. This is where according to Christian tradition the clothes of Jesus were stripped by Roman soldiers. There is no station marker at this location.
Latest Update: February 10, 2016