Seven Mosques (al-Masajid as-Sab'a)

By the Editors of the Madain Project

  • This article is undergoing or requires copyediting. Once done, this tag should be removed.

The Seven Mosques (المساجد السبعة) is a group of small mosques constructed close to each other on the site where the Battle of Trench is believed to have been fought. Originally there were seven mosques marking the locations where the command posts are said to have deployed. Today the actual number of mosques is six, but it is known by the seven mosques.


These mosques are located on the western side of the Mount Sela' when part of the trench was dug by Muslims in the time of Prophet Muhammad to defend Medina, when the Quraish marched in with the tribes in the fifth year of Hijra (migration). These mosques are built on the known sites of troops stationed and monitoring sites of the battle in 627 CE.

Each mosque’s name is linked to the conquest except for al-Fatah mosque which was built at the site of the dome (Qubba) of the Prophet. The mosques are in a row from north to south: al-Fathah, Salman Farsi Mosque, abu Bakr Mosque, Umer ibn Khattab Mosque, Ali ibn abi Talib Mosque, Mosque of Fatima.


Circa 627 CE

Masjid al-Fatah
The al-Fatah Mosque (مسجد الفتح) is the largest of the all mosques at the site of the Battle of Ahzab. It is built on a small peak, where according to the tradition the command post of prophet Muhammad was pitched during the battle. The peak where the mosque is built provides a panoramic view of the entire battle field. It is located near the foot of Mount Sela', near the northern flank of the mount. The mosque was most likely constructed between 705 and 711 CE (during the reign of Umar ibn Abd al-Aziz) for the first time, then it was refurbished in 1179 CE. Ottoman Sultan Abdul Majid I rehabilitated it in 1851 CE.

Circa 627 CE

Masjid Salman Farsi
The facade of the mosque of Salman Farsi (مسجد سلمان الفارسي). It is located south of al-Fath Mosque, 20 meters from the base of Mount Sela'. It is named after Salman the Persian, a companion of the Prophet Muhammad who recommended digging a trench to fortify the city from an invasion. A striking feature of the mosques is their small size, it has just one hall at 7 meters long and 2 meters wide. It was also built during the governorship of Umar ibn abd al-Aziz in Madinah. In 1179 CE (575 Hj.) it was rebuilt on the orders of minister Said al-Deen Abu al-Haija. It was rebuilt again during the reign of the Ottoman Sultan Abd al-Majid I.

Circa 627 CE

Masjid Umar
The Mosque of Umer (مسجد عمر بن الخطاب) at the site of Ghazwa-i Khandaq. The details of its origins are vague, al­though its name indicates that Omar bin al-Khattab, the second caliph, may have had prayed there. The mosque features the same architectural characteristics as the al-Fath mosque, indicating they were constructed during the same period. The mosques, in fact, are utilitarian and without adornment.

Circa 627 CE

Masjid abu Bakr
The abu-Bakr Mosque (مسجد أبي بكر) (lower white structure), mosque no longer exists as it was razed to make space available for the parking lot at the site. A very vague holds that the Prophet prayed the eid prayer there. The Abu Bakr al-Siddeeq Mosque is 15 meters to the southwest of Salman al-Farisi Mosque. It was reported that abu Bakr, when he was caliph, prayed eid prayer there. This is why it was named after him.

Circa 627 CE

Masjid Ali
The Mosque of Ali ibn abi Talib (مسجد علي بن أبي طالب), behind the main gate are the stairs that lead to the main building of the Mosque. The Ali bin abu Talib mosque is located high on the hilltop, which is in poor condition and measuring only 8.5 metres long and 6.5 metres wide. It has one small step. It is likely to have been built and renovated with al-Fath Mosque.

Circa 627 CE

Masjid Fatima
Mosque of Fatima al-Zahra (مسجد فاطمة الزهراء), also known as Mus'ad ibn Mo'az Mosque. It is the smallest of the group and measures 4 meters by 3 meters. This mosque was built in the Ottoman era during the reign of Sultan Abdul Majid I.

Circa 627 CE

Masjid al-Khandaq
The modern Masjid al-Khandaq (مسجد الخندق), or the Mosque of the “Trench,” which is also referred to as the “Mosque of the Conquest,” is the modern mosque at the site. It is connected to the Battle of the Trench, which took place during the time of the Prophet Muhammad. The mosque is located in the trench area northwest of Madinah.


See Also


Let's bring some history to your inbox

Signup for our monthly newsletter / online magazine.
No spam, we promise.

Privacy Policy